OSG Monthly Republic Polytechnic
• Office of Student and Graduate Affairs • August 2012 •

Glitz 2012 – Sports Excellence Awards Ceremony

The annual Sports Excellence Awards Ceremony was held at the TRCC Auditorium on 22 June 2012. Proudly sponsored by ASIAPAC Distribution PTE LTD and supported by People's Association and JE Creations, the prestigious event is organised yearly to honour and recognise athletes from Team Republic. The ceremony kicked off with a heart pumping performance by Beats Encore IG followed by a stunning performance by the Cheerleading IG.

330 athletes were awarded the Meritorious, Silver and Gold Awards and 20 athletes received the RP Athlete Development Grant. Aquatic, Canoeing, Rugby, Taekwondo, Tchoukball and Tennis were awarded the Sport for Good award in recognition of the outreach programmes they had done for RP community and schools. Click here for the list of award recipients.

RP's Southeast Asian Games (SEA Games) medallists: BOON JI XING BRANDON (Aquatic), WENDY TAN LIU JIE (Archery), MUHAMMAD ZAKI BIN SAPARI (Athletics), GERALD ONG SOON LEE (Badminton), WU QING DE (Basketball), PANG JIE LIANG ALVIN (Dragon Boat), NURINDAH BTE MURSANI (Silat), SAFIRUL B SULAIMAN (Soccer), MUHAMMAD AL-QAASIMY BIN ABDUL (Soccer), PANG XUE JIE (Table Tennis), ISABELLE LI (Table Tennis) and SASHA SIEW HOON CHRISTIAN (Wakeboarding) received the Republic Honours from Dr Michael Koh, Senior Director (Office of Academic Services).

The crowd roared their approval when Mr. Heng Guan Teck, Deputy Principal (Student Services/Planning) announced the Male & Female Captain of the Year.

Captain (F): Claudia Emilia D'Silva
School of Sports, Health and Leisure

Captain (M): An Hua Yong James, School of Engineering

Then the entire auditorium erupted into cheers when Principal/CEO Mr. Yeo Li Pheow announced the winners for Sportsman & Sportswoman of the Year.

Sportswoman: Nurhaishireen Bte Mohd Rahim, School of Applied Science

Sportsman: Muhammad Zaki Bin Sapari, School of Sports, Health and Leisure

More thunderous cheers followed when Principal revealed the winner for Team of the Year to Rugby IG.

Team of the Year: RUGBY IG

Behind every performing team, there are the unsung heroes & heroines who are the coaches and advisors. The evening concluded with the teams presenting their token of appreciation to their coaches & advisors. It was indeed a memorable evening for all the award winners & those who attended the ceremony.


Article by Kevin Tan, Senior Executive, Office of Student and Graduate Affairs
  More stories...