News and Events

International Building Design Competition (IBDC) 2021 Award Winners!

11 Oct 2021

  • Enscape
    Enscape - Submission by Builders of Tomorrow
  • Team Builders of Tomorrow
    Team Builders of Tomorrow

The annual International Building Design Competition (IBDC) aspires to bring students from Institutes of Higher Learning (IHL) all over the world into Building Information Modelling (BIM) technology. Students are to apply skills identified under the Industry Transformation Map for the Built Environment Sector.

IBDC2021 adopts an ‘open-theme approach’ where students can freely decide on a site and any building typology. The design of the building has to meet the criteria of Sustainable Building Design, Design for Manufacturing and Assembly (DfMA) and Integrated Digital Delivery.

Participants were required to research, plan, brainstorm and demonstrate skills spanning various disciplines (Architecture, Structural, Mechanical & Electrical, and Sustainable Design). In fact, as many as ten different software were employed in the process of designing and development of the projects.

Despite the rigorous requirement for entry, the competition saw a total of 48 submissions from all over the world and 2 of our 5 teams were among the 16 shortlisted for presentation. The online presentation comprised of a 5-minutes pitch and 15-minutes Question-and-Answer to a group of audience (about 60 attendees) with 6 Judges from the Industry and Building Construction Authority (BCA) via Microsoft Teams.

Our teams had done exceedingly well and clinched the 1st Prize (cash award of $8,000) and Merit Prize (cash award of $1,000).

On the 11 October 2021, the Prize Award Ceremony was graced by Minister of State, Ministry of Communications and Information & Ministry of National Development, Mr. Tan Kiat How. The top three teams were also invited to a closed Dialogue session with the Minister after the Ceremony.

Team Supervisor
Builders of Tomorrow (1st Prize)

Choy Cheng Xian
Beatrice Tiong
Brandon Wong
John Philip Heng
Muhammad Rafiq
Ms Christin Hu
Mr Kelvin Loo
Priatelia (Merit Prize)

Nur Iffah Bte Saipe
Fatin Athirah Bte Murad
Raja Nur Musfirah Binte Raja Mohd Aris
Sarah Basyirah Binte Paujan
Syahirah Bte Mohd Idris
Mr Toh Wai Yin
Mr Tan Soon Chye
Rice Shower

Jareth Quek
Derrick Ng
Foo Hao Ran
Chia Jia Jun Desmond
Tay Isaac
Mr Tan Soon Chye
Mr Toh Wai Yin

Eugene Un Rui Seng
Taranjit Singh S/O Kuldip Singh
Lim Jia Rong Bartolome
Lim Ean
Nur Afiqah Binte Mohamed Zakariah
Mr Kelvin Loo
Dr Lieu Chee Fui
5 horsemen

Thoha Al Mustafa Bin Iskandar Elfi
Tan Ai Teng
Quek Li Yi Charmaine
Ulric Tan Wei Nian
Ruzana Begam Binte Abdul Halim
Mr Lee Yat Cheong
Dr Lieu Chee Fui